Habit #6: Eat Healthy Fats

Fats. Another macronutrient with another unfortunate history. Just like carbs, fats have gone through an unpopular phase at some point.

But the reality is that just like carbs, fats have an extremely vital role they play in our health and function.

There’s strong scientific evidence that suggest that fats are important for the following reasons:

  • Provides cardiovascular protection
  • Improves body composition
  • Alleviates depression
There’s also evidence to suggest that it:
  • Prevents Cancer
  • Preserves memory
  • Preserves eye health

As you can see, fats are pretty important for us to be our best selves. So what kind should you choose to eat?

There are three main types of fats that all have a place in our diet, even saturated fat. Below are some examples of different types of fats:

  • Saturated
    • Animal Fats
    • Tropical Oils like coconut and palm
  • Monounsaturated
    • Avocados
    • Tree Nuts (Almonds, Brazil Nuts, Pecans, Walnuts, Pistachios)
    • Olive Oil
  • Polyunsaturated
    • Omega-3
      • Fish Oils
      • Flax Seed Oil
    • Omega-6
      • Seed Oils (Canola, Safflower, Sunflower)

So if saturated fat is ok, what’s a “healthy” fat and what’s an “unhealthy” fat. Well you can think of a healthy fat as any fat that is basically in it’s whole unprocessed form.

Examples of healthy fats would be fattier cuts of meat, unrefined virgin coconut oil, cold pressed extra virgin olive oil, avocados, nuts or fatty fish.

Examples of unhealthy fats would be refined vegetable oils, margarine, refined oils like soybean, corn and safflower and any trans-fatty acids.

So, this week try to eat healthy fats with every meal and remember to try and aim to get whole, unprocessed forms when possible.

Thomas Conway
Thomas Conway